Connect with us


The West Indies name their squad for the World T20 Championship



The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Selection Panel today announced the West Indies squad for the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Men’s T20 World Cup, 2021. 

The panel named fifteen (15) players and four (4) travelling reserves for the event which will be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October 17 to November 14.

Experienced bowler Ravi Rampaul, a member of the 2012 winning World Cup squad, has been recalled for the first time since 2015. All-rounder Roston Chase is called up to the West Indies T20I squad for the first time.

The squad is led by Kieron Pollard, with former captain Jason Holder in reserve. 

West Indies are the defending world champions and only two-time winners of the ICC T20 World Cup, winning in 2012 against Sri Lanka at the Premadasa in Colombo then four years later in 2016 against England in Kolkata.  

West Indies have been drawn in Group 1 and will play five group games against England, South Africa and Australia and two other teams to be determined.  West Indies’ first group game will be against England in Dubai on October 23.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply